Book Review: Blackbirds by Chuck Wendig

Blackbirds (Miriam Black, #1)

 

 

 

 

Blackbirds by Chuck Wendig
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Ladies and gentlemen, filthy boys and snarky gals! Presenting… Blackbirds, a book that reads out like a charm!

Okay, it doesn’t. It actually reads out like a derailed train set on a collision course. It’s a grim, super fast-paced story set in an even grimmer world, where each character is more flawed than a Nepali politician. Not the least of whom is our protagonist, Miriam Black.

But. It only makes this book so much more interesting.

Coming back to Miriam Black… What a superb character she is! Probably one of the most awesome female protagonists I’ve read in years. In fact, she is one of the major reason why I so much loved the book.

IMG_20151006_021148[1]

My version of Miriam! (based on an image I found on the internet)

The story is okay for me. But it’s the narration that tops the chart. I’ve always been a fan of Chuck Wendig’s writing style and that no-nonsense, kick-in-the-guts, fist-in-the-teeth attitude in his voice. I came to Blackbirds expecting all of that, and, of course, I wasn’t disappointed.

If you love a witty thriller with a touch of fantasy, set in a dark world, full of low-life villains and filthy-tongued heroes, this book is most definitely for you.

View all my reviews

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Blackbirds by Chuck Wendig

Leave a Reply

